PERFORMANCE: Codes & Standards

Energy Codes and Standards for Commercial Fenestration

In most places in the United States, building energy codes are based on the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), which references ASHRAE Standard 90.1 as a compliance alternative for commercial buildings and residential buildings with more than three stories. Both the IECC and ASHRAE Standard 90.1 set energy efficiency provisions for new construction, additions, and new systems and equipment in existing buildings.

More information on the commercial chapter of the IECC »

More information on ASHRAE Standard 90.1 »

While the IECC and ASHRAE Standard 90.1 have been developed to provide minimum energy efficiency baselines, other standards have been developed with more ambitious energy efficiency and sustainable design requirements. Prominent examples are ASHRAE Standard 189 and the International Green Construction Code (IgCC). These sustainable design standards establish baselines for green construction that can be adopted and enforced by jurisdictions.

More information on ASHRAE Standard 189 and the IgCC »

For all of these codes and standards, certified fenestration energy ratings are required. These must be determined by independent laboratories in accordance with National Fenestration Ratings Council (NFRC) standards. A recent method for generating certified NFRC ratings for commercial fenestration is the Component Modeling Approach (CMA).

More information on CMA »


Facade Design Tool



Window Technologies

Case Studies

Tools & Resources