Efficient Windows Collaborative

The site is owned, operated and maintained by the Efficient Windows Collaborative (EWC). The EWC is a coalition of window, door, skylight, and component manufacturers, research organizations, federal, state and local government agencies, and others interested in expanding the market for high-efficiency fenestration products. The EWC provides unbiased information, outreach, education and research to the general public on the energy efficiency, technical considerations, and human considerations that influence window and facade design, selection and use.

This web site was originally developed with support from the U.S. Department of Energy's Windows and Glazing Research Program within the Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Building Technologies Program. In partnership with the building industry, the U.S. Department of Energy supports a range of research, development, and demonstration programs, as well as education and market transformation projects, designed to accelerate the introduction and use of new energy-saving building technologies.

The original web site was jointly developed between the Center for Sustainable Building Research (CSBR) at the University of Minnesota and the Windows and Daylighting Group at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), with support from the Alliance to Save Energy (ASE).

Site Design
Kerry Haglund, Efficient Windows Collaborative (previously with CSBR), efficientwindowscollaborative@gmail.com
Rachel O'Malley, (previously with CSBR)
John Carmody, (previously with CSBR)

Site Content
John Carmody (previously with CSBR)
Kerry Haglund
Rolf Jacobson, CSBR
Nils Petermann, (previously with ASE)
Neal Humphrey, (previously with ASE)

Robin Mitchell, LBNL
Christian Kohler, LBNL
Krystyna Zelenay, (previously with LBNL)
Kerry Haglund

Database Programming
John Seemann, Datrona, Inc.
Gary Heck, Datrona, Inc.

A special thanks to those who edited and advised on the web site content:
Tom Culp, Birchpoint Consulting
Jim Larsen, Cardinal Glass Industries
Steve Farrar, (previously with Guardian Industries)
Paul Bush, Vitro Architectural Glass (previously PPG Industries)
Helen Sanders, Technoform (previously SAGE Electrochromics)
Harlan Byker, Pleotint, Inc.
Tracy Rogers, Keyston Certifications (previously Quanex Building Products Corporation)
Steve Fronek, Wausau Window and Wall Systems














Facade Design Tool



Window Technologies

Case Studies

Tools & Resources